Calendar Girls: December! Best book published in 2017

Welcome back to the twelfth month of Calendar Girls! It’s a monthly blog event co-hosted by Flavia and Melaine and designed to ignite bookish discussions among readers. Calendar Girls was inspired by the 1961 Neil Sedaka song, Calendar Girl, For more information, about the Calendar Girls community click here!

Welcome to December blog friends! As 2017, grateful, comes to an end we are all looking back at all the books we’ve read and listened to over the past year. So The Calendar Girls are looking at those books and deciding what the best book of 2017.

I have read some great books this year:

AND MORE! I’ve read so many amazing books and “discovered” so many new authors.

But by far, the best book I have read published in 2017 is:

29283884

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

I listened to this audiobook over the summer because I had seen so many people here in the blogosphere talking about it. I was in love with this book from the moment the narration began. The narrator, Christian Coulson is amazing. To me, his voice is the exact voice I would imagine the person on the cover to sound. It’s so good.

This book has basically every element of a fantastic book: adventure, pirates, true love!

It’s historical fiction which before this year I had read very little. The story centers around three teenagers: Monty, this best friend/secret love Percy, and Monty’s sister Felicity. (Felicity is by far the best character, and there is a sequel coming up next year about her, and that book is already in the running for best book of 2018).

The love story in this book is gorgeous. Monty and Percy the drama, the secretness because this book takes place in the 1700’s. Like a good love story, it hurts and makes your face hurt from smiling. I love their love.

I could talk about this book forever, it’s funny and smart and just so well written. Mackenzi Lee is just so talented and also has a great twitter if you are looking for authors to follow.

If you haven’t read this book, read it. Read it next. Or listen to the Audiobook because it’s great. Ingest this book.

What book published in 2017 has been your favorite?

As for the Calendar Girls: Good News! We’re going to be continuing next year! I love this group, and I’m thrilled that we’re going to keep going.

Our topic for January 2018 is: Best Book set anywhere but in North America.

 

7 thoughts on “Calendar Girls: December! Best book published in 2017

Leave a comment