Calendar Girls September 2019

Welcome unofficially to autumn! I hope you enjoy all your pumpkin and apple-flavored things. As you know, as we flip the calendar to September, it’s once again time for a Calendar Girl’s post!

Calendar Girls is a monthly blog event created by Melanie at MNBernard Books and Flavia the Bibliophile and now be hosted by Katie at Never Not Reading and Adrienne at Darque Dreamer Reads It is designed to ignite bookish discussions among readers and was inspired by the 1961 Neil Sedaka song Calendar Girl.

This month, we’re taking over the high seas by talking about the best books with pirates!

This one was hard for me, I’ve never gotten into the pirate craze. Besides enjoying the first few Pirates of the Carribean movies, I haven’t taken in much media about them. I was, however, able to find a book that I think technically counts.

32828538. sy475

Lost Boys: The True Story of Captain Hook by Christina Henry

Technically this is a book about someone becoming a pirate so I’m counting it and hopefully the rest of the Calendar Girls community does too.

I listened to this book in 2017, actually because Adrienne was talking highly about it on her blog and twitter. (my review I have gotten better at writing reviews since then.) I loved this book, and I strongly dislike the story of Peter Pan.

Books are defined by the hero. In most other tellings of this story, child kidnapper Peter Pan is the hero. In this one, Captian Hook tells the story about how the Peter in the story we all know, that was immortalized by Disney, came to be that Peter. Needless to say, it’s a bit different from the original canon and that’s what I loved about it.

The pirates in this book are the adults, and you’ll have to read the book to learn all about it, but I loved how this book explained that part of the tale. I loved how this book talked about growing up. I loved that his book highlighted that Peter Pan was a child kidnapper.

Although this book isn’t about life on the high seas and swashbuckling and all the things I’m sure everyone else’s books high light, this is a great story about how to know when it’s time to grow up and how to recognize when you friend isn’t exactly who you always thought they were.

I know this is more of a fairy tale retelling than a book all about pirates, but I sincerely loved this book and highly, highly recommend it.

I’m looking forward to see what the rest of the community recommends for pirate books to add some new adventures to my TBR. If you have a favorite pirate book, drop me a comment, I’m always looking for new things to read!

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

 

5 thoughts on “Calendar Girls September 2019

  1. I am so glad you loved this one and I love that you chose it! I didn’t think of it when making my choice, but it actually is pretty perfect because it’s Hook’s “becoming” story. I loved that it was dark and so unique from all the other retellings, and it really showed what shaped him in to the pirate we love to hate, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment