My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, & Brodi Ashton

The Details Publisher: HaperTeenPublished: June 26th 2018Genres: YA, historical fiction, retelling, romance, paranormalMy Rating: 4.5 Stars Goodreads Blub You may think you know the story. After a miserable childhood, penniless orphan Jane Eyre embarks on a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall. There, she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester. Despite their significant … Continue reading My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, & Brodi Ashton

A Statement

Hi, I wanted to talk a moment to talk about what's happening in the world on my little platform. I don't think the world really needs the voice of an unimportant cis white woman right now, which is why I haven't been active on social media over the last few weeks. I stand with the … Continue reading A Statement

Hate, Love, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

The Details Publisher: Soho Teen Published: January 16th, 2018 Genres: YA Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, realistic fiction My Rating: 4 Stars  Goodreads Blurb A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape—perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera. American-born … Continue reading Hate, Love, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

The Raven’s Tale by Cat Winters

The Details Publisher: Amulet Books Published: April 16th, 2019 Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Retellings My Rating: 4.5 Stars  Goodreads Blurb Seventeen-year-old Edgar Poe counts down the days until he can escape his foster family—the wealthy Allans of Richmond, Virginia. He hungers for his upcoming life as a student at the prestigious new … Continue reading The Raven’s Tale by Cat Winters

Calendar Girls August 2019

It is one again time for my favorite Monday of the month, Calendar Girls day!! Calendar Girls is a monthly blog event created by Melanie at MNBernard Books and Flavia the Bibliophile and now be hosted by Katie at Never Not Reading and Adrienne at Darque Dreamer Reads.  It is designed to ignite bookish discussions among readers and was inspired by the 1961 Neil Sedaka song Calendar Girl. … Continue reading Calendar Girls August 2019