Memes

Fierce Fangirl Friday- The Disappearance Podcast

 

 

Welcome to Fierce Fangirl Friday! ❤

Fierce Fangirl Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Jackie over at toomuchofabooknerd where you have the opportunity to do some healthy fangirling on your blog!

Whenever you have something, anything to fangirl about – whether it be a book, TV show, music, celebrities, your pet, the universe, finding your soulmate or just a recent meal that you’ve had – Fierce Fangirl Friday is your opportunity to do so! It doesn’t matter if it’s a recent obsession of yours or something you’ve been loving for a while!

The rules are simple ones, make sure you ping back to Jackie, and whenever there is a Friday that you need to fangirl, about anything, even if it’s not what your blog is usually about, have at it.

14344140_589717751211903_3623399974794050361_n

So I have talked about The Disappearance Podcast a while back, but it deserves a second shout out because 1. It’s amazing and 2. It’s reaching the end of its run and I’m sort of sad about it. What am I going to do every other Monday if I’m not trying to figure this whole mess out? What I am going to do the hours I would have spent researching Edgar Allan Poe trying to figure out this mystery? What I am going to do with the knowledge I have acquired about 18th-century painters and 1st-century English Kings? This is not the kind of stuff I can bring up in regular conversation.

What am I going to do every other Monday if I’m not trying to figure this whole mess out? What I am going to do the hours I would have spent researching Edgar Allan Poe trying to figure out this mystery? What I am going to do with the knowledge I have acquired about 18th-century painters and 1st-century English Kings? This is not the kind of stuff I can bring up in regular conversation.

This podcast’s premise is simple: a man– our narrator– receives a box from a kid he went to high school with 20 years earlier for a couple months at the end of their senior year. The kid had disappeared not long after they graduated, and had recently been declared dead. Since he’s dead, and his father is dead, the box is sent to our narrator. He then tries to figure out what all of it means. There are 6 episodes as the narrator tries to unravel the clues and realizes he has to take a step back and think about everything. Then the next series starts, a man with the same voice and same name receives the same box, but something about the life of this second person is different. And it continues new clues, new paths. New hours that I, the listener spends researching seemingly random things trying to Kevin Bacon them together– there has to be a connection.

The clues take us–the listeners– off in different directions. Pineapples, a story within a story by Edgar Allan Poe, a master key to post office boxes, several extremely famous painters, a secret society. This meme:

800px-Samuel_Johnson_by_Joshua_Reynolds_2

I mean, not this meme specifically, but the guy in the painting, Samuel Johnson. The actual painting that used on the website for the podcast isn’t this one, but a similar one but how can you not use a meme when there’s a meme avalible.

I do have to mention that this podcast is narrated and was created by a person I have known for about half my life, and many of the voices are people that I’ve known for years. That’s why I started to listen, but as it continued, it became something more than a weird project one of my friends was doing and something that I had to talk about. I got the rest of my department to listen to it. Every other Monday afternoon, we discuss what the heck is happening at lunch.

On Monday the second episode of the 4th and final section of the Podcast will be released and we’ll get a little bit more. Hopefully, an answer is coming somewhere in the next 5 episodes. If we don’t, I can and will send angry messages to the creator.

Each episode is less than a half hour long and just so fun. Easily bingeable and worth spending a few hours listening to. You won’t regret it. I linked to the audioboom page for it at the start of this post. I mean, this podcast is no Levar Burton Reads (which will be getting it’s own Fierce Fangirl Friday) but I love it. And I think you will too.

What are you fangirling about? I would love to hear about it!

 

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

1 thought on “Fierce Fangirl Friday- The Disappearance Podcast”

Leave a Reply

