Memes

Top 5 Wednesday: Series that keep getting better

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic, and you just post five books that fit that topic.

This weeks topic is series that keep getting better.

It’s easy to say that as a series continues, the books don’t live up to the first one. There is something so perfect about that first book that the rest of them will recreate that spark. This weeks theme, however, is a call to the books that keep getting better.

So here we go!

Harry Potter

ap_0710030156698-69a6d91338e0a38f03d78bb7e9e290508cfb1273-s900-c85  Harry Potter keeps getting better. I think that part of what makes these books so interesting is that as the books continue, the books become more mature. Book 1 is for 11-year-olds and younger kids. Book 7 is not something that I would let a little kid read, maybe not even a11-year-old, it’s an older YA audience instead of a more middle-grade audience. The books grew up with its audience. The people who were 11 when the first book came out were 21 when book 7 came out. We all aged together. Each book adds more layers to this story that is still giving up things to talk about. Harry Potter is the story that keeps on giving.

The Jessica Darling Series.

Image result I’m sure regular readers of my blog are as shocked by the inclusion of this story as Harry Potter, but Megan Mccafferty’s Jessica Darling series is wonderful. The first one is a YA adventure and the 5th on is about a 30-year-old woman who thinks she has her life together, but some things are still to be resolved. The books are one sitting reading material. I loved them so much, and each one keeps getting better.

 

 

 

The Hunger Games Trilogy

7938275

I enjoyed Mocking Jay more than the first book in the Hunger Games. I felt that the first book was a great ground level, but as the books continue, the importance of the mission becomes greater, the urgency in having to fix this problem becomes bigger. All three books are great, but they keep getting better as they continue on.

 

 

 

 

15803870

 

Scott Westerfeld Leviathan

These books are an alternate history of World War 1. It’s kind of steam punk, all great. One of the main characters is a young girl who lies about her gender to get onto a ship. The first book is an excellent base, but the books get more exciting and have more adventure before there is a grand finale. There is kidnapping, war, assassination, and all kinds of adventure.

 

** JEN’S CHOICE*

My fifth pick comes from my friend Jen.

The Selection series by Kiera Cass

23502345 I own these, but I have not read them yet. I bought them on the selection of Jen, who rarely recommends books to be. She tells me she loved all the books fairly equally.

I believe if Jen likes it enough to tell me about it, it’s a book worth picking up.

 

 

 

Have you read any of these series? Do you agree with my choices? What series do you think keeps getting better?

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Series that keep getting better”

  1. See, I was the total opposite with The Hunger Games. I LOVED the first one, liked the second, and was ify at best on the third.

    But you totally captured exactly what I love so much about the Harry Potter series! I love that they grow with the reader, especially since I grew up reading them. There was something so magical about the fact that as the books were released Harry was STILL my age!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

