Memes

WWW Wednesday- July 19

WWW Wednesday is a meme currently hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s very simple – answer the three questions and leave a link in Sam’s post.

The Three Ws are:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

What am I currently reading:

28818314

 

Roseblood by A.G. Howard

I am participating in a read-a-long with the Calendar Girls, and since July’s theme is Retellings, we are reading this Phantom of the Opera retelling. I’m a little over halfway through, and it’s interesting. I’m not familiar with the original, so I was walking in blind to the story. I will be putting up a review at the end of the month.

 

 

28078791

Odd and True by Cat Winters

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley. I will be writing a review when I finish this, but so far I’m loving it. It has sisters fighting evil in the early 1900’s. It has pieces of the old west at the turn of the century. It’s really cool so far. I’m about halfway through this one as well, but I am loving it so much.

 

29283884

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

I’m listening to this audiobook while I drive back and forth to work, and oh man. This is great. It’s funny and smart and dirty (in a good way). Teenage boys. I’m loving the romantic parts and relationship between the three younger characters. I don’t think the sister is going to be around much longer if nothing changes as she’s supposed to say in Paris for school while they continue, but I’m liking how the three teenage characters play off each other. It almost makes me wish my commute was a little bit longer.

 

What did I recently finish reading?

31423196 Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

I posted a review of this on Monday. It was a really excellent book. I’m looking forward to the rest of this series

 

 

 

 

194373I’ve been having the wonderful Stephen Fry read  Sherlock Holmes to me while I was driving and I just wrapped up The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes. When I finish the whole canon, I’m going to write up a “review” of the collection. I just needed a break from the books. (It’s 60 hours of Sherlock Holmes I didn’t want to get annoyed with it.)

 

 

 

What am I reading next?

32860355

Alex and Eliza by Melissa De La Cruz.

Durning this month’s Calendar girls twitter chat we were discussing next month’s topic which is Historical fiction and this book came up. It’s a fictionalized telling of Alexander Hamilton and his wife Eliza’s love story. I’m kind of excited about this book, and I hope it doesn’t disappoint.

 

 

 

8921

After I wrap up The Gentleman’s Guide, I’m jumping back into Sherlock with The Hound of the Baskervilles. I really want to listen to the whole Sherlock canon this summer. This is my favorite Sherlock story because it’s the first one I ever read when I was like, eight.

 

 

 

 

 

And that my week in books, what does yours look like?

 

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

11 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday- July 19”

  1. So many good picks Deanna! I have an arc copy of Odd & True that I am so tempted to start if it weren’t for my current reads, love the cover on this one. I also LOVED The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, so much fun to read & good to know that the audiobook holds up 🙂 Roseblood I DNF’d at about the 130 page mark, it’s the 2nd book I’ve DNF’d in my entire bookworm life lol, I’m curious to read your review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

