Memes

WWWWednesay #8

WWW Wednesday is a meme currently hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s very simple – answer the three questions and leave a link in Sam’s post.

The Three Ws are:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

What am I currently reading?

The last couple weeks have not been the easiest couple of weeks for me. So I haven’t done the reading that I wanted to accomplish, but img_5328

 
27883214

I am currently reading Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I started it yesterday, and I am so far in love. Scarlett just got to the Island, so I haven’t gotten to the meat of the story, but so far I find the characters interesting and the lore of the story is pretty cool. I’m excited to read the rest of it.  I have been looking forward to reading this since I started blogging and saw so many fellow bloggers raving about it. So far it’s living up to the hype. A review will be coming on a Monday in the near future.

 
106590

I am also still listening to Lincoln by David Herbert Donald. I’ll have this finished by the end of the week, there are about 4 hours left. I plan on writing my long Thursday post on this book next week. I didn’t know all that much about the Civil War, being more into the history of Massachusetts’s involvement in the Revolution as my history obsession. I have found learning about Abraham Lincoln as a person very interesting. He seems like he would be a cool guy to hang out with, and may be the only other adult in American politics besides George Washinton.

 

What have I Recently Finished Reading?

15801763

 

I finished Untold over the weekend. This series is a different take on the classic Gothic stories with a YA twist. I have found that if I read the dialogue with a British accent in my head, it feels less odd and flows better. I didn’t enjoy this one as much as the first one, but I still liked it. I will be reading the third book in this series soon, but I have a couple books I want to read for the blog first. I am interested to see what’s coming for Kami and her crew.

 

What do I plan on reading next?

31423196

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray was the Uppercase book for April, and because I had such a terrible reading month of May I haven’t gotten to it yet. It sounds really good. Goodreads seems to like it. So I am looking forward to it. From reading the blurb and the reviews it seems to be much more Sci-Fi than any books that I’ve read recently, so I am looking forward to that change from fantasy and magic and into something different.

 

For my next audiobook, I found the Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Sherlock Holmes stories narrated by Stephen Fry. It’s, like, 60 hours but broken into the different stories at about 10 hours a piece. So I’m going to listen to A Study in Scarlet next week. I will put together a  review of the audio when I get through it in a couple weeks, but if there are things I know will be good it’s Sherlock Holmes and a Stephen Fry narrative.

And that’s where I am in my reading, what have you reading this week?

 

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “WWWWednesay #8”

  1. I’ve seen a lot of Caraval around the bookternet to mixed reviews. I’d love to hear what you think of it when you’re done. I just finished When Dimple Met Rishi, which was amazing, and I’m currently reading The Miseducation of Cameron Post. Happy Wednesday, and happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I missed this yesterday, but here goes… what am I currently reading? Several historical books about Roanoke. I’m also revisiting The Call of Cthulhu, which I should have finished by now. It’s not that long. The last thing I read was Conquistadore, a history of Pedro Sarmiento de Gamboa. In the future, I hope to pick Terry Pratchett’s 4th installment of the Discworld series back up – Mort. I also have yet to start a book written by a friend, Dawn Chapman, called The Secret King. In reality, I’ll probably still be trolling through some more pieces of 16th century world history though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

