Harry Potter and the Sacred Text- a Podcast

I, like I’m sure many readers of this blog, LOVE Harry Potter. I have read these books at least six times, and every time I read them I find little things that I didn’t see before.

I feel it’s important to tell a little bit of my Harry Potter origin story before I start raving about this amazing podcast. In 6th grade, we had a book day. Everyone brought in their favorite book to talk about it for five minutes during class. I talked about the Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House stories, and a friend of mine discussed a silly book about a boy wizard.

Over that summer I bugged my mom to buy it for me because I was 11 and could not buy things. Then I spent the summer reading it. I finished reading The Sorcerer’s Stone on the Fourth of July during a cookout alone in my parent’s friends house, laying across her living room floor while everyone else was outside. I remember my best friend making fun of me for it, as he would many times over the years, for being wrapped up in Harry Potter. I remember my grandmother visiting from out of state buying me the fourth book and joking that it would take me a year to read it and finishing the book before her trip ended. I sat on the floor of the supermarket I worked at behind the fast line register to read parts Half Blood Prince, so I didn’t lose any time walking to the break room on my break. I remember the deep numb feeling about reading about Fred Weasley and having the feeling replicated only one other time in my life since. And in that time, to try to feel better, I reread Harry Potter.

I found the podcast Harry Potter and the Sacred Text during NerdCon: Nerdfighteria. The wonderfully adorable hosts Vaness and Casper, held a panel where they did a discussion about the first line of the first book “Mr. and Mrs. Veron Dursley of number four Privet Drive were happy to say they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.” As a group, we discussed what the line means spiritually, literally, and emotionally. We discussed what we learn from this line and how it sets up future events.

At first, I thought “This is a little silly” However, I still subscribed to the Podcast and started to listen. I still thought it was a little silly as I listened to the first couple chapters of Book One, but as I listened to it more and realized that these two people were 100% serious about what they were doing and discussing these books in different themes and really shedding light on different parts of the books and really digging in.

At the time I am writing this, I am listening to Book 2 Chapter 15 Aragog. And the Podcast itself is in the middle of Prison of Azkaban.  I’m not too far behind being able to catch up with it so that I have to listen to it once a week instead of once a day.

So far this Podcast is just, brilliant. Vanessa and Casper do a deep dive into each chapter with a theme. With Aragog they are reading with the theme of sanctuary. They find parts of the text that show examples of these themes and how we can take what Harry Potter gives us and use it in the “real world.” It’s such a deep, thoughtful, relook at these books that I’ve read multiple times. There is always new ways to see parts of this text.

One of my favorite part of the podcast is toward the end of each episode, they do a religious practice about the text. They are using different practices from different religions. I honestly don’t know all that much about religion, but I do really enjoy learning about it, and I find this practice fascinating.

If you love Harry Potter and are interested in seeing the text in a different light, I highly suggest checking this out. I linked to the website above, and it can be found on all the podcast directories.

Have you listened to this podcast? Are you in love with it? Do you have any podcast suggestions? Let me know!

Until next time Internet,

 

Deanna

 

1 thought on “Harry Potter and the Sacred Text- a Podcast”

Leave a Reply

