Memes

Princess Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Zuky over at BookBum for the new and improved Princess book tag.

Here are the rules:

We politely ask that you:

  • Mention where you saw the tag/thank whoever tagged you
  • Tag Zuky and Mandy with our posts so they can check out the wonderful Princess fun throughout the blog world (Mandy’s link & Zuky’s link)
  • Play a game of tag at the end!

And away we go!

snow white

SNOW WHITE

THIS BOOK (LIKE THE MOVIE) STARTED IT ALL
FAVOURITE DEBUT BOOK FROM AN AUTHOR 

8137197

 

The Keys to the Golden Firebird by Maureen Johnson.

I believe I have mentioned somewhere between 1 and 642 times that I love Maureen Johnson. In this novel, her first, Johson tells the story of three sisters as they grief the death of their father. This book had me fall in love with her writing and style. Maureen Johnson is underappreciated and needs to be discovered by a greater audience.

 

 

 

 

Cenicienta-4.jpg

CINDERELLA

A DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH
JUST LIKE CINDERELLA, YOU EITHER DIDN’T EXPECT MUCH OUT OF THIS CHARACTER IN THE BEGINNING BUT THEY TURNED OUT TO BE A TOTAL GEM 

4473

I first read this book in high school, and to be honest, this is probably the only book I was assigned that I actually finished in high school.

This book is over 600 pages long, and I was not looking forward to reading it, but it ended up being the greatest book I  have ever read. I should really write one of my Thursday posts about this book because I can’t contain how much it changed my life in a couple paragraphs.

What Owen and his story means to me is so deep. John Irving is a difficult author to read. His books are very dense and have a lot of circular storytelling, but this book. If you have time to read a 600 page Irving novel, do it. This one is special.

 

 

 

aurora (1).jpgAURORA

SLEEPING BEAUTY
A BOOK THAT MAKES YOU SLEEPY OR JUST COULD NOT HOLD YOUR ATTENTION

5907

 

I did love the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings, but it took me FOREVER to read them because of the long paragraphs and that much of it is written in Elvish. The pages and pages of longwinded dialogue was borderline obnoxious.

The book is great, but it was hard for me to pay attention to it to read large chunks at a time like I usually do.

 

 

 

 

ariel2

ARIEL

UNDER THE SEA
A BOOK WITH A WATER/OCEAN SETTING

5231173.jpg

 

So this by the stretching the Ocean/ Water setting, but a decent amount of this book takes place at the beach, so I’m counting it.

This book is much more complicated than it sounds. It’s a book about dealing with death and convincing yourself that your grief is as important someone who was closer to the person who died. It’s a lovely book. Check it out.

 

 

 

belle

BELLE

BEAUTY AND THE BOOKS
NAME A BOOK WITH THE BEST BOOKWORM/BOOK LOVER

30256248

 

By Your Side by Kasie West was a fun read. The first third takes place in a library, which is how I am justifying this choice. It’s a cute love story. I did write a review about this a couple weeks back about how much I loved it.

This is a cute love story, and there are books and getting locked in a library. I loved it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

jasmine

JASMINE

THE THIEF AND THE PRINCESS
NAME BOOK WITH AN UNLIKELY LOVE STORY (EITHER IN TERMS OF ROMANCE OR A BOOK YOU DIDN’T EXPECT TO LOVE SO MUCH)

25614492

 

 

Salt to the Sea fits in both of these categories. A book with an unlikely love and book I didn’t expect to love so much. This story is so sad, but there are so many loves each of the four stories show love in their own way, romantically or otherwise. This book is just amazing. Ruta Sepetys is amazing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

pocahontas1 (2)

POCAHONTAS

THE REAL LIFE PRINCESS
NAME A BOOK THAT IS BASED ON A REAL LIFE PERSON YOU WANT TO READ/HAVE READ

 

16130

 

Listen, this book was great. I wrote a post about this book when I first started blogging a few months ago. This is a wonderful book about the complicated and conflicted life of a man that had so much promise but died because he refused to apologize to a man that could have been his best friend if Alexander wasn’t so prideful. The whole book is well written. I listened to the audiobook, which was helpful to get through the long parts about Consitution. It’s just a good biography. Maybe someone will write a musical about it.

 

 

 

mulan (2)

MULAN

THE PRINCESS THAT SAVED HER COUNTRY
NAME THE FIERCEST HEROINE YOU KNOW

6050678.jpg

 

The Levianthan series is a little “older” the first one came out in 2009, and I wasn’t too into the book internet when I read it, but I haven’t seen much about them. I think that these books are fantastic. They are a retelling of World War 1 with a steampunk spin. If I did it right, clicking on the book should take you to the Goodreads page, check them out if you haven’t.

The female narrator is a young woman named Deryn, who saves her father from fighting by pretending to be a boy to get aboard a ship to fight in the war. They are really good books. Check them out.

 

tiana

TIANA

THE PRINCESS WITH THE COOLEST AND MOST DIVERSE CREW
NAME A DIVERSE BOOK WHETHER IT IS A DIVERSE SET OF CHARACTERS (LIKE TIANA’S GROUP OF NAVEEN, LOUIS, RAY, AND MORE) OR JUST DIVERSE IN GENERAL

28763485

 

 

So I am guilty of not reading as diversely as I should. So I sadly don’t have a lot of books to choice from. The Sun is Also A Star is a great book, plus it features two people of color as the narrators and their stories involve their families and immigrant status.

 

 

 

 

 

unnamed

RAPUNZEL

LET YOUR LONGGGGGG HAIR DOWN
NAME THE LONGEST BOOK YOU’VE EVER READ

 

2.jpg

 

I have probably read a longer book, but at 766 pages, Order of the Phoenix is one of the longest and the first one that pops into my head.

I’m sure you have read it. So I will not torture you with details about 5th Harry Potter novel.

 

 

 

 

 

merida

MERIDA

I DETERMINE MY OWN FATE
A BOOK WHERE THERE IS NO LOVE STORY/INTEREST OR ISN’T NEEDED

2767052

 

 

I think that the love story that was emphasized in the movies greatly took away for the story the Hunger Games. Katniss don’t need no man. She can save the world herself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

annaelsa

 

 

 

 

 

ANNA/ELSA

FROZEN HEARTS
A BOOK IN A WINTER/COLD SETTING

3213286

 

 

Let it Snow is a compilation of three connected love stories written by three amazing YA writers, Maureen Johnson, Lauren Myracle, and John Green.

These are stories about love during Christmas break, it’s super cute and sweet. I think it’s a great quick winter read. There is a movie coming up based on this and I’m interested to see how they do it.

 

 

 

 

 

moana

MOANA

HOW FAR I’LL GO
A CHARACTER THAT GOES ON A JOURNEY

30653719

Yeva goes on several different journies in Hunted. She goes on an actual journey to find her father, and an emotional and mental journey to discover who is really is and what she wants. Hunted is a great book. Read it. Really, read it if you haven’t.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags! Excuse me if you have been previously tagged.

Darque Dreamer / LairOfBooks / Matxireadsbooks / BooksVertigoandTea / Sue’s reading corner / Chanda Reads

Also anyone else who sees this and thinks it’s cool.

Have your read any of these books? What have you thought about them?

Until next time Internet,

 

Deanna

 

 

1 thought on “Princess Book Tag”

  1. Thanks for doing the tag Deanna! I had a little giggle at your musical comment on the Alexander Hamilton books haha! I haven’t read any of these other books you’ve mentioned, but I would like to try and tackle The Hobbit at some point 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

