Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

The Details

Publisher:  Harper Teens
Published:  January 31st, 2017
Genres:  Contemporary, YA, Romance
My Rating: 4 Stars
30256248

 GoodReads Blurb

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead, it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

My Review

I cannot review this book without first addressing the unlikely scenario that the first third of the book centers around. There is, literally, no way to be locked in a public building. There are regulations that make that impossible. This is not a Novalee Nation from Where the Heart Is staying at the Wal-Mart on purpose. This is 2017 two people locked in a public building that if it doesn’t have emergency exits can’t be opened from the outside but an alarm sounds when you exit it, it is not up to code, and it’s, literally, illegal. There is a way out. It also seems illogical that a public library would not have a landline. Every library I have ever been in has landlines, their technology is mostly from the early 2000’s. If there is one place that still has landlines it’s a public library.

It feels so go to let that out.

Ignoring this, I really liked this book. I found Autumn very relatable. I suffer from anxiety similar to Autumn. I understand her. I understand her overwhelming sensations. I have also had a Jeff. That guy that seems so right, but when you step back and look at it the whole relationship is easier to see. Dax is interesting. He seems very genuine and understanding. He’s a great foil for Jeff.

I can see how someone reading this book would see everything Autumn says and does are completely ridiculous and over-reacting, but that–for me– was what made her so real. Her inner narration, the panic, thinking people will hate her, all of it is what happens in my head. It was cool to see that kind of character not be a joke.

This is a wonderfully cute romance book. I love YA romance novels. They are probably my favorite thing to read. This was a great addition to the genre.

This was my first Kasie West book. I’ve seen a lot about her books on the internet. I wasn’t sure I would like this book because of the locked in a building that should be easily escapable thing when I read the blurb after I opened my February Uppercase box, but I was pleasantly surprised by how well it was written. I’ll be picking up more of her books in the future.

Have you read this book? What did you think?

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West”

  1. I love Kasie West! I have this book and started s while back but for some reason found it kind of slow compared to her other books. I’m glad you enjoyed it and I love the tidbit about this being an unlikely scenario 😂 I had the same thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

