Calendar Girls- Best High Fanstacy Novel

Welcome to the third month of the reading/blogging event Flavia and Melanie are hosting, Calendar Girls! It’s a monthly event designed to ignite bookish discussions between bloggers based on the monthly theme. For more information, check out Melanie or Flavia’s launch posts!

This Month;s theme:

BEST HIGH FANTASY NOVEL

What is a high fantasy?  Well, High Fantasy is defined as fantasy fiction set in an alternative, entirely fictional (“secondary”) world, rather than the real, or “primary” world. The secondary world is usually internally consistent, but its rules differ in some way(s) from those of the primary world (GoodReads.com).

So I’m not exactly sure of these stories are high fantasy, I asked the internet, and the internet gave several different answers, but I enjoy these stories, and it’s a fantasy, so I’m going with “yes.”

43545

So The Once and Future King by TH White is a collection of four Arthurian legends. There are probably 458 thousand Arthur legends, but these four are the most “well known” of the stories. The first being The Sword and the Stone which there is a Disney movie about, which is what got me interesting in the Arthur stories back in the day.

The books are set in fictional Britain where King Uther and Arthur Pendragon rule over the land. This book is a basic overview of the legends, going from Arthur’s birth to Arthur’s death, covering many, many events and characters in between.

 

I found this book hilarious; it was so funny. Laugh out loud funny. Parts of it are very, very, extremely serious, and there is murder, and war and accidental incest and father killing. It’s wonderful.

I read the “grown up” version of this book a while back, and I currently have it in my audible queue, so I’ll be listening to it soon. I find this whole legend fascinating. There are so many, and so many characters with their own stories. Many of the characters have similar names which can make it confusing at times.  I love this kind of stuff. I

I love this kind of stuff. I loved the show Merlin that was on BBC and SyFy a few years back. The Sword and the Stone was probably my most watched Pre-Aladdin Disney animated movie.

I would love to hear what your favorite high fantasy novels are and I can’t wait to see what the rest of the Calendar Girls recommend.

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

5 thoughts on “Calendar Girls- Best High Fanstacy Novel”

  1. Oo! This sounds really cool! I’ve always been fascinated with the Arthurian legends, but I’ve never gotten around to really reading them. (well… among other books! HAHAHA!) I think the closest I’ve gotten to learning about the stories is Monty Python. :p

    And I absolutely love how you’re just like: “accidental incest, and father killing. It’s wonderful.” HAHAHA! It sounds like me when I review a book, but I love that stuff, too. I’m always more interested in the gritty stories than the fluffy ones. 😀 Great choice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

