Top 5 Wednesdays, Future Classsics

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic, and you just post five books that fit that topic.

This week’s topic is books that when we are all dead, our children will read like we read Sherlock Holmes and Charles Dickins, future classics. I find this super interesting, guessing what parts of our lives will live on and what that will say about us. How does our media represent us? I had a lot of fun coming up with this list, which I think is a little bit predictable, but hopefully correct.

Here’s my Top 5 future classics:

 

1.  Harry Potter by JK Rowling

ap_0710030156698-69a6d91338e0a38f03d78bb7e9e290508cfb1273-s900-c85

I can’t imagine a time where Harry Potter won’t be relevant. I think that books like Harry Potter, well-written fantasy novels, live on way past its original readers. Already there is a second generation of children reading (and loving) these books.   I can see people, living on the moon, with Harry Potter open on their lap. As long as there are people, we will be reading Harry Potter. The themes run deep and will always be relevant. I don’t see its impact going away anytime soon.

2. The Fault and Our Stars by John Green

11870085

Will the teenagers on the moon in a couple hundred years be reading John Green novels like we read Pride and Prejudice? Maybe. I mean, I feel like it has the staying power of a great story on top of being a great love story. I can see at the very least a second generation of people, our children and children of nerdfighters, reading it. It hurts and has such beautiful prose in it.

 

 

3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

19063

I talked about this book in an early post, but this book man. It’s so powerful. Although it’s about World War 2, I think that it can be projected onto other moments in time. It’s one of those books that already feels old. Like it has an old soul while only being 12 years old. I can see many generations reading it.

 

 

 

4. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
9780345391803_custom-94fb9d4ba936bf0e6dff52bf2b7ad8c866f82470-s300-c85

This is the oldest book in my group, and I’m sure it’s already considered “classic” by many, but I think that it will continue along the line it’s going on and become one of those books that end up on every single “Books to read before you die” list. It does deal with space travel, so when humans live on the moon, maybe it will have a bigger impact. Who knows?

 

 

 

5. Most of what Stephen King has written

So don’t judge me, but the books I’ve read by Stephen King are On Writing and part of Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption. HOWEVER, there is no doubt that this author’s writing has have a profound impact on not only pop culture, but just about everything thing else. Stephen King changed writing, what it takes to have a popular book. He changed the horror genre in ways that it hadn’t been changed since Edgar Allan Poe. This man has so many books, and from what I understand, nearly all of them are amazing. I see people in their space suits on the moon in their lawn chairs on the moon beach reading IT. It’ll happen.

And those are my thoughts about future classics, what do you think?

 

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

Leave a Reply

