Judging Books by their Covers

A while back, like, several years ago, I was browsing the shelves of my local Barnes and Nobel, and I found a book that drew me in with its beautiful cover. That book was Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I mean, look at it:

11235712

This is a great book cover. Sleek, represents exactly what the book it about. It made me pull it off the shelf. I read the blurb and was intrigued. So I texted my friend and said what do you think of a retelling fo Cinderella with robots? And she said something to the effect of “that sounds ridiculous.”  I carried the book around for a little bit but ended up putting it down before I got to the checkout, deciding that I’d look the book up and see what the Internet was saying.

As I’m sure you know, as you are the book Internet, this book was very well received, and I don’t think I saw a single under 3-star review on Goodreads when I first looked into it. All of a sudden this beautiful cover was showing up on Tumblr with rave reviews. So, next time I was in the bookstore I ran my finger down the spine of this book but didn’t buy it. I waited until it came out in paperback, then picked it up. I much prefer hardcover books, but I was afraid that I would wait to read it and by the time I got around to it, if I liked it, the rest of the series would be in paperback, and I am very into bookcase continuity. I can’t have one hardcover and the rest paperback. It is not okay.

So this book sat on my bookshelf for about 4 years. It would show prominently in the pictures I would post of my TBR pile because of that beautiful cover. My cousin asked several times if the Lunar Chronicles were any good because she was on the fence about reading it. To which I would say “I honestly haven’t read it because I have the same feelings about it.” and then I would feel so guilty about it. Why did I buy this book if I wasn’t sure if I would read it?

When I moved over Labor Day weekend, I put my bookshelf back together, Cinder sat on the top shelf with other books on my TBR list so I could look at them and pressure myself into reading more so I could get through this pile that seems to grow tenfold every time I read one book.

Then I started sniffing around book blogging considering starting my own. One of the books that showed on list after list: “best books” “best adaptations” “best sci-fi”  “favorite books” any list there was that praised a book Cinder, or the whole series was on it.

So as I started my own blog, I said to myself: “Well, Deanna, if you’re going to have a YA book blog, you are going to have to read the Robot Cinderella book.”

I think the main reason I didn’t want to read it was because I didn’t know what to expect. I mean, I know Cinderella. I know that story, I’ve been absorbing that story since I was a toddler. I’ve seen versions with cartoon mice, Brandy, Hillary Duff and Chad Michael Murray, I mean, I would have thought that I’d been this story in every way humanly imaginable. But there on my bookshelf sat a new imagining, one with Robots on what seemed to be a post-apocalyptic earth. What was this book going to be?

I made a WWW Wednesday post a couple weeks ago where I told the internet that the next book I was going to read was Cinder. Telling the internet is one way that I keep myself accountable. I tell the Internet that I’m going to the gym, and I go because I don’t want to lie to the Internet, that’s immoral. So the Internet keeps me in line. So I, unsure if I would enjoy it, opened up Cinder on a Monday night and started to read.

Tuesday, there was a very large snowstorm that hit the North East. So, since the all day marathon on Criminal Minds didn’t start until 11 on Tuesdays, I decided to read a little bit. I picked up Cinder and didn’t put it down until I the book was over. I missed a whole day of season 4 of Criminal Minds, which BTW is my favorite season.

Cinder is pretty much impossible to put down.

The book is a retelling of Cinderella, there is the evil step-mother, the ball, the “lost shoe” thing, but I think the book could really be summarized without using the “retelling of Cinderella” part. It’s a very different story for the familiar fairytale.

My major resistance against reading this book when I first bought it was not wanting to be bored by a story that I knew. I was worried that it would be too familiar. I think what made the book so interesting to me was that it was so different from Cinderella.

While recommending the book, I find myself saying “It’s a robot Cinderella, but it’s super good I promise. I know that sounds weird.”

I loved this book, I am reading the sequel Scarlet at the moment, as we haven’t had a snowstorm (and hopefully won’t have anymore) so I haven’t had the time to just sit and read a whole 400 page book in a day, I am about halfway through so I should be able to finish it over the weekend.

Although I’d seen so many praises of these books, I wasn’t expecting it to be as good as it was. I guess my point is to just read it. A book may seem like it’s going to be weird but trust the Goodreads page. If other bookish people think the book is good, it’s good. Trust your instincts about the book. You just may find your new favorite.

Are there any books that you were afraid to read for fear of disappointment and they ended up being great? I would love to hear about them!

 

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

 

1 thought on “Judging Books by their Covers”

  1. haha! you had me laughing at “I missed a whole day of season 4 of Criminal Minds” cuz that’s how you KNOW a book is GOOD! when you miss your fave tv show LOL! I’m so glad you’re enjoying this series, Marissa Meyer is honestly one of the best in fairy tale re-tellings cuz she always makes it her own. She is unique in this genre & passionate about her characters, very sweet in person & will spin a tale on the spot at her events. My fave had to be Cress since I found Scarlet (like many others) to be a bit on the slow side but still very good. Happy reading Deanna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

