Top Ten Tuesday Books: you can’t put down

 

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s list is Top Ten Books you can’t put down and read in one sitting. Featured image borrowed from the Broke and Bookish blog.

 

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I’ve mentioned before that I’m a sucker for a love story. This one has a little bit more than the average YA love story. Eleanor and Park is a well-written real feeling story about first love.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer. This book man, I put off reading it as it gathered dust on my bookshelf for years. Then a well time snowstorm had me reading this whole book on a Tuesday afternoon. I’m currently reading the second book in the series. Meyer is a wonderfully gifted writer. I can’t wait to read the rest of her work.

The Sun is Also a Star Nicola Yoon. This book is so beautiful. I snapped my friend Jen about 3500 times in the day and a half it took me to read it telling her to read it. Again, I’m a sucker for love.

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. I may have mentioned that Maureen Johnson is my favorite author. I don’t think I have mentioned that I’m one of those people who really loves crime, especially serial killers. Johnson’s Shades of London series is about ghost hunters in London, and the first book in that series deals with the ghost of Jack the Ripper. I love Johnson’s style of writing. Since we’ve been twitter friends for almost 10 years, I feel like her books are written by a friend.

The Jessica Darling Series by Megan McCafferty. Yes, all 5 books in two days, including a trip to Bangor Maine from Augusta in a blizzard to buy the 4th and 5th books. They are a fun coming of age love story. They are great, highly recommend.

 

 

Suite Scarlett Maureen Johnson. Another Maureen Johnson, weird? This book is about a family that lives in a hotel in New York and a mysterious woman moves in, and Scarlett’s life changes forever. There is a very odd version of Hamlet, and a very sarcastic fun older brother named Spencer. It’s a fun story. I love this series.

We Were Liars E Lockhart. I have seen a lot of mixed reactions to this book, but I loved it. I didn’t see the twist, looking back at it I see some serious foreshadowing that I should have caught. This is a wonderful book. Well-written, great characters.

Fangirl Rainbow Rowell. As a fanfiction writer, this book hit me in a unique way that no other book has. Rowell gets it, the weird pressure that comes with writing a multi-chapter story for a popular series, but this book has more than just that. The characters are raw. The emotions are pure. If you haven’t read anything by Rowell, I recommend this one above all else.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephine Perkins. All three of the books in this series is so cute, but the first one has a special place in my heart. Boarding school, adorable teenage love, John Green made a video about how much he liked it, perfect ingredients for Deanna falling in love with love. I read the whole thing in one setting, and it was time well spent.

Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut. I read this book in, like, 4 hours. I loved it. In thinking about it too much to write this blog post, I realized that several of my favorite stories in other mediums, the season 4 episode of Supernatural There is a Monster at the End of This Book and the movie Stranger than Fiction, have a similar story line. Such a great writer, such a great story.


I have about 400 honorable mentions, including the rest of Maureen Johnson’s books, pretty much everything Ally Carter has written, and John Green’s novels. I’m a big fan of reading books in one sitting. I easily get lost in books with good stories and wonderful characters.

What about you? What are your one sitting books that you couldn’t get enough of?

 

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Books: you can’t put down”

Leave a Reply

