TOP 5 Wednesday: Scifi and Fantasy Novels

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic, and you just post 5 books that fit that topic.

This week’s topic: Science Fiction and Fantasy novels.

So this it’s a genre that I’ve read a lot of, and in looking at the posts of people who have posted their list for this week already, I have noticed that I  have read almost none of them. So this list is basically the five sci-fi and fantasy books that I have read.

ap_0710030156698-69a6d91338e0a38f03d78bb7e9e290508cfb1273-s900-c85

I  mean, obviously. Harry Potter shaped and impacted my life in a way that is so profound and intense that I would not be the same person I currently am if I hadn’t read it.  Harry Potter is the most important book I have ever read.

 

 

9780345391803_custom-94fb9d4ba936bf0e6dff52bf2b7ad8c866f82470-s300-c85

I first read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy when I was in high school. I literally hated it, probably because I hated that class with every bit of my being, maybe I didn’t get the humor then. However, I re-read it about 5 years ago, and I loved it. It’s just so good and ridiculous. Such a good book. I have the whole series in one of those fancy leather bound books from Barnes and Nobel editions, but I have only read the first one thus far.

 

 

5907

Oh man, so I kind of like the Hobbit. I read it for the first time my freshman year of high school and just really liked the whole idea of it. I mean, I’m pretty sure anyone reading this has read it or seen the movies, so I don’t have to tell you about how good it is, but if you haven’t, trust me, it’s good.

 

 

9780452284234_custom-a757580dfcfda8c90e6ea37b8287db376f4408f3-s300-c85

 

Who doesn’t love 1984? I mean, here in the United States were are basically living in it. This isn’t the book I would choose to live in if I had a choice, but I don’t.

This is another one that I was forced to read in high school, and thought was stupid and then re-read later and greatly enjoyed it.

 

 

9780385333849_custom-5288eca3f89c6cba840b6ba0bdec66a05ddb0c64-s300-c85

This is a Sci-book, NPR told me so. Also, there are aliens and a person unstuck in time so yeah.

To be totally honest, I read this book about 12 years ago, and I can’t remember exactly what happens but I know WW2 is involved and I remember being very struck by it. This one is worth a re-read soon I’m thinking.

 

What are your top 5 Sci-fi and Fantasy novels?

 

Until next time internet,

Deanna

7 thoughts on “TOP 5 Wednesday: Scifi and Fantasy Novels”

Leave a Reply

