Memes

Unpopular Opinions Books

I was tagged by Irena at Books and Hot Tea to do this tag, and you can see her post HERE. This is a fun tag thank Irena for choosing me! 😀

 

1. A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE

mortalinstruments2_zps519dd99e

I tried very desperately to like the Mortal Instruments series. I tried so hard, but I just couldn’t. Maybe it has to do with the reputation of the author, or just the story itself but I couldn’t get into it. The plot is intriguing on its surface, but I just can’t do it.

2. A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE.

41865

Don’t judge me, but I honestly like the overall idea of Twilight. If we work with just the first book, I think it is a decent, solid story. If you psychoanalyze it, it’s creepy af, but if you are just reading to read, it’s a good book. Most of the characters are fantastic and yes the writing isn’t the greatest of all time, but not every book has to be.

I like it and I’m not sorry.

 

3. AN OTP THAT I DON’T LIKE.

Ginny could have done way better than Harry. Harry Potter is the worst.

4. A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR.

YA Dystopia. — The genre is great and has amazing works in it, but I’m burnt out on dystopian trilogies.

5. A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE.

Harry Potter is the literal worst. Like I get the being a teenager that has to save the world is rough, but Harry Potter is my least favorite character in the Harry Potter series.

16-rare-harry-potter-illustrations-from-the-books-1-14664-1372350633-8_big

Second is Severus “You friend zoned me so I’m going to torture your son and his friends for 7 years because how dare you love anyone but me who called you a racial slur” Snape.

6. A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO.

This ties into number 1. Cassandra Clare.

I know that what happens inside fandom rarely makes it to the “real world” but there is no way that the people who published her books didn’t know what she did in the fan fiction word. I mean, I would like to think that publishing houses can use google. Plagiarism and online bullying aren’t, like, things that you can ignore. The fact that she has gained popularity only to again be accused of plagiarism and still be bullying critics, many of them teenagers when she is a grown-ass woman, is just, I can’t.

7. A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING.

LOVE TRIANGLES

8. A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING.

Divergent

17383994.

I mean, like, I’ve heard good things, but I don’t think I will ever read it. I had Divergent on my bookshelf for years, but it didn’t survive my latest round of bookshelf cleaning.

9. THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR TV SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?

The Shawshank Redemption, based on the novella Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King.

979026697

Why? The Shawshank Redemption is probably the second greatest movie of all time after the Orson Welles classic Citizen Kane.

Besides the casting being, like, completely the opposite of how the characters in the book are described– because I always think Morgan Freeman when I think of a pale-faced red-headed Irishman– the movie follows the book pretty closely. It could be said that the movie adds some depth to the original narration. It’s just a good movie and Stephen King is one of if not the greatest story teller of our time which is probably why the movie is so good. The book is brilliant, but this movie man.

FUN FACT: this novella is found in the same collection as The Body which Stand by Me is based on, which is my second choice for this question.

 

We have now reached the point in the blog where I’m supposed to tag people. Like I did with the mystery blogger award, I’m not going to tag anyone. I’ve only been in the community for a month. I’m starting to meet people and love blogs but I don’t think I know anyone well enough to start tagging people yet. If you like this meme and want to fill it out, go for it!

Until Next Time Internet,

Deanna

 

 

6 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Books”

    1. I mean, Snape is a great character, but his motives are terrible and I don’t care the he had a crush on Lily it doesn’t make becoming a death eater and mental abusing school children okay. You don’t name your kid after that guy, ANOTHER reason Harry is the WORST.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I couldn’t get into the Mortal Instruments either. I actually trudged through 3 books (because everyone said I HAD to love them) and realized that I didn’t care about a single character or what would happen next. I also agree about Harry. I love the series, but dude was clueless about 90% of the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s truly how I felt about Mortal Instruments as well, but I only read the first two. I mean, I can understand it’s popularity, but not for me. I also think that Harry being completely out of the loop made the story more believable because we as readers know what Harry knows, but it’s still annoying as heck.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t like the Mortal Instrument as a book series for the same reasons but for whatever reason I’ve found that I’m enjoying the Netflix Original series. I think I like the show only due to the actors that are in it. They give the characters more depth (I find) and it moves the book series along quicker than forcing myself to read about details that have nothing to do with the actual story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

