Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday- Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic, and you just post 5 books that fit that topic.

This week’s topic is books that get you out of a reading slump:

Harry Potter

ap_0710030156698-69a6d91338e0a38f03d78bb7e9e290508cfb1273-s900-c85

So Technically, the answer would be Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone,  but I’m going to go with the whole series. When I’m coming off a couple books that didn’t quite live up to expectations, or I’ve read too many of the same kind of book in a row, and I need something very different that I know I can get through pretty quickly, I turn to the boy wizard. I can finish the whole series in less than a month and find my way to something different after getting through these.

 Devilish by Maureen Johnson

devilish

Maureen Johnson has written some great books, this one about a girl who makes a deal with the literal devil that involves a cupcake is my favorite. Johnson’s writing style is funny and thoughtful. She creates characters that have the feeling of an every person. Devilish is a one sitting read that can pull me right out of a reading slump and back into my TBR pile.

A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

4473

That’s a weird choice for someone who reads mostly YA, Deanna.  Yes. You are correct. A very dense John Irving novel sounds like the exact opposite of a “get out of a slump” book. However, this is my favorite book, and I’ve read it about 8 times. This book isn’t a one sitting read or one that I can read very quickly despite knowing what happens, but when I am bored with my TBR pile, and I’m not into re-reading Harry Potter, Owen Meany it is. Maybe someday I will explain my connection to this book, but that would have to be a Thursday long post as it’s not something I can explain in a couple of sentences. If you haven’t read A Prayer for Owen Meany, I would add it to your TBR pile because it’s amazing.

 Heist Society by Ally Carter

6574102

 

So this book is much like the TV show Leverage but with teenagers. I named my cat after a character for Leverage, so needless to say, big fan of that kind of storytelling. The characters are fun, and the heist/cons are complex and interesting. They are fun, and I am a fan of the good guys stealing stuff for the greater good. Each of the books in this series is a one sit read. I love them. I saw on Goodreads that there may be a book 4 and I am thrilled by this development.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

99561

This book is sad but so good. I love John Green’s writing style. I can’t wait until he has something new to read. Until then I just have to re-read his already published books. His first is by far my favorite. I’ve read it 3 or 4 times. It’s just as great on a re-read as it was the first time around.

What books get you out of a slump?

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday- Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump”

Leave a Reply

