Top 5 Wednesday: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic, and you just post 5 books that fit that topic.

This week’s topic is 5 book trends that you are tired of.

I have to admit that I am probably not up to date on the current trends of literature. I see that they seem to change kind of quickly, but there are still a thing that I’m just tired of seeing. Not that I won’t read books with these themes, but I try to put big spaces between books with these similar themes, so I don’t get overly bored with reading in general.

  • Love Triangles. I hate unnecessary love triangles, which is to say most if not all love triangles. There are times when a well-placed love triangle drives a little bit of suspense– like in a romance novel–, but for the most part, they are not necessary and don’t move the plot and fall flat. A love triangle is not necessary for every story.

 

  • Insta-famous. So we live in a world where becoming internet famous seemingly out of nowhere. However, in real life, even the overnight sensations and viral YouTubers have put a lot of time into their videos, and it’s months if not years of work. The idea that one post flings people into stardom and then that character complaining about the terribleness of fame, I just have never gotten it. There are YouTubers or Tumblr bloggers or twitter users that I have watched for years as they grow a small following and then finally break through with that one topical post. I find that many of the insta-famous stories don’t show that backside, the “unsexy” work that goes behind becoming insta-famous.

 

  • Dystopia. Okay so I love a good dystopia, but I have read so many dystopian trilogies that I’m close to never wanting to read another one. There are only so many ways that a nearly identical plot of a teenager overthrowing the government can play out. I mean, it’s a great idea. However, 7,000 times over is sort of beating it to death. Although, it does set up a nice instructional manual if we end up there.

 

  • Snowflakes. So this is a term that I don’t really like using, but it’s the easiest way to explain it because I dislike the term Mary Sue even more. This is a character (usually female) that is untrained in something but for some reason super good at it (See: Luke Skywalker). I hate it when a character who didn’t know they had magic is better at magic than anyone else who has ever done magic. No, 15-year-old, you are not the greatest wizard of all time, that’s Merlin, and you are not Merlin. Unless you are Merlin, which with the trends in YA you might be, but still even 15-year-old Merlin practiced. You need to practice. Sure, some people are just smarter than others, but we are usually not talking about being really good at multiplication.

 

  • Paranormal Romances where one character is immortal. I haven’t seen a lot of this lately, but that may be because I’ve been actively avoiding paranormal romance style books. Last time I went to Barnes and Nobel I think that section was a lot smaller than it was a year or two ago, but still, I don’t like it. I don’t like it because even though it is explained in detail how the character became immortal at 16 or 17 or whatever, they were born in 1532 and shouldn’t be dating someone born in 2000. That’s creepy. I don’t care. Creepy. First of all, what do these people have in common? I have nothing in common with someone born in 2000 and I’m only 14 years older than them. What do they talk about? I don’t see someone born in 1532 liking the Bachelor or whatever 17-year-olds watch. If they are a vampire, they can’t take selfies because they don’t show up in the picture, so can’t do that together. I have literally no idea what else teenage people do. AND it’s super creepy. 

I feel this contains too much negativity, so I will add one trend that I’m currently loving:

I’m not sure why this became a thing, but I’ve been seeing it everywhere, and I like the idea of the re-telling of classics. I probably have four different Alice and Wonderland re-tellings chilling in my TBR pile. I’m sure when I reach the end of them I will never want to read another re-telling again, but at the moment, I think it’s really cool. I know it is not that same, but I feel a little bit of a fan fiction vibe to them like that culture is becoming more accepted. As a fan fiction writer (I write pre-series Supernatural fan fiction about the boys’ childhood) I find it a fun challenge to re-imagine characters while still trying to hold true to the original stories.

What do you think? Agree or Disagree?

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Book Trends You’re Tired Of”

Leave a Reply

