Blogging

Starting this whole mess

I’m new to this whole blogging situation.

I mean, like, I ‘ve written blogs before. I’ve done Blog Every Day in April a couple times with a group of people I’ve met on Twitter through a mutual love of Maureen Johnson, and I wrote a LiveJournal back in the day when LJ first started, but I haven’t seriously sat down and written a blog in about six years. The whole blogging community has changed drastically since that last time I was an active member of it. However, I am eager to get started.

I’ve been lurking and checking out other blogs are dedicated to YA literature or books and writing, and I’m seeing themes that I think I want to include in what I’m doing. It may take a couple weeks or months to get this exactly where I want it, but I’m hoping to become a part of the community that I’ve been looking at from the sidelines the last couple of weeks.

One thing I really want to do with this platform is review books. Right now, I don’t know how to get my hands on new books to review them before they are released like I have seen in other places, but I’m sure I’ll figure it out. For right now I’m going to review the books that I’ve read recently that I hope other people will like. I’m a novice at reviewing books, so I think this would be the best place to start. Kind of like not signing up to run a marathon after your second day running on the treadmill for a half hour.

Book reviewers have been a way that I’ve found new books for years; I want to be good (or at least halfway decent) at writing reviews before I take on a bigger challenge.

I have my first review queued up for Monday. It’s book that was released last year, one that I’ve seen on several “Books I wanted to read in 2016 but didn’t” lists, so it’s mostly relevant. I think I want to do a book review Monday as a thing, but we’ll see how it goes.

The other big thing that I want to do is share original pieces that I’ve written. At my core, I am a writer, I have always believed that blogging is a great way to get my feet wet that way. Having a place to share (and possibly have other people read) will push me to go toward my goals of writing more, finishing things, and developing my style. My idea is to have, like, a Short Story Saturday or something. I’ll figure it out as it goes.

Anyway, I  look forward to entering this journey and seeing where it leads me.

Until next time Internet,

Deanna

 

Books read in 2017: 2

Leave a Reply

